The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bitting issues

I'm hoping someone here can give me some things to try.

I have a four year old paso/arab colt that I am getting started. He's a pretty good little guy, easy going, learns quickly and willingly, and is willing to try anything for me. Currently, he is under saddle at a walk and trot, both on the trail and in the arena. He's been a breeze to train so far, except for the whole bit thing.

I started him in a myler comfort snaffle. From day one, he'll accept the bit readily with no fussing, but once it's in his mouth, he yawns, drags his head down, braces, and fusses. This is with NO contact from me. Add any bit contact, and it gets worse. So, thinking he didn't like the myler, I started playing the "which bit will you accept" game. I've used a french link, a kimberwick, a regular snaffle, a thinner snaffle, a thicker snaffle, a happy mouth, a rubber snaffle, etc, etc. He doesn't like any of them.

I've left him in the stall wearing the bridle trying to get him used to it. Yeah, that didn't do much good either. I've about come to the conclusing that it's causing him some form of pain. He is getting worse and worse about his bit complaints, and has become hard to ride because he's so busy fussing that he can't pay attention.

Currently, I've pulled the bit completely and am riding him in his rope halter. All of the sudden, my easy going, easy to train pony is back. No more head tossing, yawning, dragging, or anything else.

So what else to do? I know he is teething at the moment, his canines are coming in, but he's been doing this since I started him as a three year old, so I don't think it's just a teething issue.