The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Steps to take when faced with hock pain

So I know my mare (10 yr old, OTTB) has hock pain (flexed a 1 and a 2, movement suggests it), I am trying to decide what route to take that would be the most effective for her and cost effective for me (relatively ).

How should I approach this with my vet. She is my first horse and my baby, I want her to have the best I can give her. This is my first time dealing with my own unsound horse and I want to make sure I do this right.

X-rays first right? How many should I expect to be taken? What will we specifically be looking for in the x-rays? If the hocks are starting to fuse on their own would the injections be worth doing or better to just leave them alone? Then there are the stuff like adequan and legends, how do I know that they aren't the route to go? How do you make these kind of decisions? I am still trying to figure all of this out, it is frustrating but I guess we all have to learn about this stuff at some point.

I've had a couple people (a few boarders and a trainer) suggest just going ahead and getting the injections done w/o getting the rads done. Some of them have done this with success but I am just not sure. I just feel so lost in all of it.

I appreciate all of the advice and comments, I come to COTH because of the great wealth of knowledge and experience on this board but I do understand that there also a great many different opinions here too.
    “It's about the horse and that's it.” - GM

!! is the new .

Shoot, this was suppose to go into Horse Care. Thats what I get for posting at 1am during a bout of insomnia.
    “It's about the horse and that's it.” - GM

!! is the new .

I went through this a couple years ago with my mare. She was much older than yours and had bad hock arthritis that caused me to eventually retire her.