The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Buying Cavallos- one question

Hey everyone. I am not experienced with barefoot and horse boots. But my horse has always been barefoot and he has great feet. Now where I board him the trails are very gravely and he is tender on them. Plus we only go out 1-2x a week and the other days are riding in a rubber ring- so his feet aren't getting as much exposure.

I have looked at several boot options and have decided on the Cavallos because they are in my price range and a friend recommended them. SO My question is about measuring!
    These are the measuring/size guide

size length from heal to toe
    0 - 4" - 4 1/14" (102-109mm)
    1 - 4 5/16" - 4 9/16" (110-117mm)
    2 - 4 5/8" - 4 7/8" (118-125mm)
    3 - 4 15/16" - 5 3/16" (126-133mm)
    4 - 5 1/4" - 5 1/2" (134-141mm)
    5 - 5 9/16" - 5 13/16" (142-149mm)
    6 - 5 7/8" - 6 1/8" (150-157mm)

I have a wb who measured 5 1/2 from heal to toe. The widest part of his foot was also 5 1/2 and width at the bare of his heel (like the width of the frog) was 3 inches.

He isnt "freshly" trimmed as they recommend in the video. But I didnt have him trimmed by the blacksmith(who is just does regular shoe trimming and I don't care for that) because he was already tender on the rocks. Instead I rasp him about once a week and to me his feet are a good length.

Do you think I should get the size 4, because he isnt freshly trimmed and slightly longer than if the farrier just did him? Or will that be too tight and I should go for the 5's? Let me know! Sorry if it didnt make sense, I am just really eager to get them so we can get back on the trails again!

Not sure of the width of Cavallos vs length. They could be too narrow when you get the length you want. Make sure you can get your money back if they don't fit properly.