The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Easy keepers and RB's

I know this has been done before a million times -Sorry! But this is my first time feeding an easy keeper (used to the hard ones).

I've been feeding this horse about 1/2 c. Progressive RB 2x's per day with just a bit of beet pulp mixed in and he is still kinda chubby. He's out 24/7 on pasture with no hay right now. He's in moderate work 5-6 x's per day.

I was reading the other threads and think I'd like to try something else for him in place of the RB. He does have a little fat behind the shoulders and he really barely gets much to eat.

So, in the previous threads no one mentions just a regular vit supplement like vita flex. Why is that? I'm not familiar with the min/vit supplements in 50lb bags.

If I feed him a small amount of beet pulp and add alfalfa pellets in (1c?) what else do I need for him in terms of a supplement. He has a mineral block in his run-in.