The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Going from private to group lessons

So I'm starting at a new barn next week and will be shuffled into group lessons. I haven't taken a group lesson in a LONG time and have only been taking private lessons for the last six or seven months.

Any suggestions to help me transition?

Note: As it is my first time to this barn I don't know if I have the option of a private lesson yet but I might take it if I do. I'm going to be riding with a college equestrian team since they are my transportation to this new barn.

Keep an open mind and be patient. I teach some group lessons (though I don't like them) and as long as each student is tolerant of other individuals sometimes needing more attention or more time or not quite being up to par then things go okay. You can learn a lot from watching others work on the same exercises as you, and from their questions.

Just do your best to learn from what your instructor says to your fellow riders as much as you can. If you look at your trainer's comments to your lesson-mates as "wasted time," then you're going to be miserable. But if you pay attention to what your trainer is saying to other people, and watch their riding and try to understand what they're doing right/wrong, every comment to someone else becomes a learning experience for you, too

The other thing that will probably be different is that your trainer won't be able to comment on your riding every moment of your lesson, like you may be used to. You might need to be more proactive and give yourself reminders (keep your leg back, heels down, softer hands, whatever) instead of counting on your trainer to "fix" you first.

Good group lessons can be fun! Hope you enjoy the new place.