The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Northern California Peeps!!!

So I am considering making the move to Northern California next year. I want to do some research first.

My boyfriend and I are both in the restaurant business. I am a chef and he is a restaurant manager.

I obviously also have horses. So I need a place that can be close to the horses, but to the big city to get good jobs. I am not in a position to own a house with horse property now, but would like to be able to someday.

I don't want to be in a big crazy city, yet we have to be close for out jobs.

We will probably be working in San Fran or Napa area.

Any suggestions would be great.

Well the economy sucks right now for everybody. I used to live there. But the Bay area is a lot more boxed in. I don't know about the restaurant business up there as much. But for horses -check out this site, it has a ton of trainers/boarding places and is a pretty good starting point for you to get an idea. Then you can calculate your way-work/commute etc.

http://www.bayequest.info/

I would look all over Napa, Sonoma and Mendocino counties up here. This is the wine country and the number of incredible restaurants is unreal!! Here in Santa Rosa (Sonoma County) we have great horse facilities, hunter/jumper dressage etc. etc. etc. Super trainers and clinicians are all over the area.

You wouldn't want to say, work in Napa and live in Santa Rosa, the commute would be brutal. You need to come up here, check with the various Chamber of Commerce offices and see what the area is all about. Spend some serious time driving around the area to see what would suit you. During commuter times of the day all the highways small and large can be parking lots.