The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Chewing vs. chomping the bit

Okay, so i recently started riding my friend's 19-year-old Morgan mare. When she goes on the bit, she is lovely. Floppy, relaxed ears, swinging, rounded back, she gets so light I feel like I could ride her with yarn. Lovely mare.

But she chews the bit. A lot. And her front teeth clack together. She doesn't get a ton of white slobber, but she does get a nice foam "lipstick" going. But it makes me crazy. CLACK CLACK CLACK CLACK all over the arena.

I take regular lessons but not on her (I have my own horses to ride and am just schooling my friend's horse since she's extremely busy at work right now). My next lesson I was thinking of riding the mare instead of my boy to get my trainer's input, but it's not for a couple weeks yet.

My question: Need chiro? Her teeth were done recently by a vet who specializes in dentistry, so I don't think that's the issue. Should I try different bits? Does she need a better rider than me with nicer hands? LOL (she is worse with her owner, though, so I don't feel so bad). Should I just not worry about it and it's just "how she is?"

My friend and I were tossing around the idea of showing her next year, so I'd really like to get her to stop CHOMPING so much.

My teenage Morgan mare chomps when she's frustrated - anything from having to stand still and wait when she's full of go, to working on a new movement that she finds difficult. The chomping decreases the more she comes to understand the new thing, so I use it as one way to know she's starting to reach a comfort level with new work.

I don't know where she got started with it. I got her when she was 11, and she used to chomp far more, and grunt, too.

Quote Originally Posted by oharabear View Post