The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Comments about pedigree?

I picked up this little gelding in Feb. as a small hunter prospect. I'm no expert on TB bloodlines, or hunter bloodlines, and just wondered what might be good/bad about his pedigree?

http://www.pedigreequery.com/cast+out2

Thanks!
    Cindy

Default OTTB pedigree help...

shameless bump...

anybody?
    Cindy

You might want to shoot a pm to vineyridge. She is the sporthorse TB guru around these here parts....

IIRC Tom Rolfe is found in eventing pedigrees.
    Also, I think Mr. Prospector is reported to pass on crooked legs.

But vineyridge is the one to ask.
    I love cooking with wine. Sometimes I even put it in the food.

I suggest posting in the racing forum.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverEnd View Post
    I suggest posting in the racing forum.
    Will do. I didn't want to cross-post and create a ruckus.
    Cindy

Well, how does he jump? that's all the really matters in the Hunter ring. the quality of the jump and having the step.

The Mr P is close up and they are all over the place temperment wise. Some very sensible. Some...well...not.

The Foolish Pleasure is very good on the bottom and not too far back, did not realise he went to Mahmoud who has quite a few good Hunters out there thru various sons and grandsons. he was french, came over here for awhile and then went back to France, find him on alot of SF pedigrees.

If he did not get the hair trigger temper that sometimes comes off that topline, he might be a nice prospect. just be sure he has the step-my Mr P grandson was a nickle short down the lines and a jerk to boot.

But they gotta jump and jump pretty and that's what makes a Hunter and that's also what a piece of paper cannot tell you.
    When opportunity knocks it's wearing overalls and looks like work.

The horse world. Two people. Three opinions.