The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Equine Resume

Hello,

I have been searching for work every where..... ugh.

I have changed my resume be more "horsey" as that is what I'm going to probably have to focus on, since that is what I have been doing for 18 years. But, of course cleaning stalls/barn watch doesn't pay as good as a sit behind the desk job. Sigh.

Anyone have a good example? I still want to have it presentable to non-equine businesses, but wondering if it is "blending" okay.

I'm desperate and will take ANYTHING at this point---for ANY PRICE...just need something.

OH, my cousins friend just spent $7,500 on her resume......she has been off work for over 8 months and even with her $7500 resume isn't finding work. UGH.

Well, any idea's or thoughts on how to make cleaning a barn, grooming horses, foal watch and foaling (plus God knows the rest of the duties it takes to run a barn with 17 horses--by my self 98% of the time) sound like being a defense lawyer--let me know!!! LOL

*Better to have loved than to have never loved at all.*
    ALWAYS Blessings NEVER losses.

I know it's kind of a pain, but you probably want to have two separate resumes -- one horsey and one non-horsey. I work as a "rental" in the software world and my company recommends having resumes geared towards even different positions within our skill sets - for example, one for a project lead position, one for a qa position, etc.
    Same with cover letters -- theyshould be tailered for each position you're applying for. Extra work, but i this economy it might be worth it. My contract ends soon and I'm not looking forward to finding the next one.

Quote Originally Posted by slpeders View Post