The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Bit Help-Got a leaning hunter

I have a really solid, strong athletic horse. He is a tank. He gets really heavy and flattens out two strides out from a fence-- and when he lands after a line I can barely lift him up to get some control, and I'm not a novice. He gets stuper heavy and feels like he is running. The people who owned him before me rode him in a gag and I refuse to do that seeing as he is a hunter.

I am trying all different kinds of less harsh bits and im looking for suggestions?

I have ridden him in an elevator- works well but not a bit I want to use consistantly, loose ring- not enough, double twisted wire-got really heavy, slow twist- good to hack in but not jump and just recently the broken segunda but I am concerned that is a little harsh of a bit.

Maybe try a Waterford? It's my favorite bit.

I've got one like that.. the slow twist works well on the flat. We just keep schooling "lighter lighter lighter" on the flat in hopes that he'll get it...

More leg??? bring him "up" more a couple strides before the fence...
    I know he's a hunter but he shouldn't be on his forehand either...
    A Waterford might help too though (as already mentioned) as it doesn't support them in any way if they start leaning...
    Good luck
    Proudly living in my "let's save the world bubble"!

My best answer is..... Its not a bit problem. Its a schooling problem. Your bit may be exacerbating the problem, but generally heavy horses need to be schooled to be lighter. Sorry if that doesnt really help you and your horse!

ETA

In experience, a three ring elevator on a truly heavy horse will cause them to often times curl behind the bit. (Just in my experience)

Quote Originally Posted by HunterJumperLuv View Post