The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Please critique this event prospect

Could you guys critique some photos for me?

I've been putting off this post (although wanted to make it for a long time now) because I didn't know how to pare it down into a concise question rather than a long drawn out ramble.

My background is that I grew up eventing/pony club (up to C-3) and then moved to an area where there is really ONLY speed/gaming and English and Western pleasure.

Basically, my horse's personality is great for me. I can be a weenie (gosh where did all the confidence of my teen years go?). I don't have huge aspirations in terms of eventing. Basically I want safe, fun rides at any event I do, goals being completion and being somewhat competitive. I don't see myself having the cajones to do much more than Training. On the right horse I MIGHT consider going Training or schooling prelim.

The horse I have now was born and raised as a Hunter Under Saddle and Western Pleasure horse. I did those two things with him for two years and he was successful. Then I was bored, wanted to event again, and so started taking lessons with my old trainer (three hours away). I'm bascially working "on my own" and trying to decide if this horse is going to accomplish my goals or if I'm wasting my time.

He seems to enjoy what he's doing and is transitioning quite well to the whole new discipline thing. He's honest to his fences... it is the QUALITY of his jump I'm worried about. I'm wondering, how much CAN you fix with gymnastics???