The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

waj2007 Guest

Unhappy New farrier - barefoot horse lame - help?

Background:
    I'm kind of trying to be private about this, but it is really bugging me...

My horse is under 10. I've had him 3 years and he's been barefoot the whole time. Never taken a lame step or been injured or sick. We ride every day in the ring or trails and I actively compete him in low level dressage & hunters o fences.

My farrier retired unexpectedly. It took a while to find another. About 9-10 weeks since last trim. I got another guy who came with glowing recommendations and a very full schedule. I was not there for the first trim. But I noticed he took a lot off of the toe (it was getting long). More than my old guy did. He kind of cut it so it is perpendicular to the ground. I'm no expert so I wouldn't know what to look at. Would pics help...?

But the next day I took my horse down the paved road 1/4 mile and through fields. He seemed fine. We got back and it felt like he stepped on a rock and stubbed his left-front toe in the drive way. He continued to feel off for a few minutes. So I got off. The next day he was still off in soft footing. Not super off. I could feel him straining his muscles, not going forward, and occasionally sort of going short over that left front. Every 10 or 20 steps he takes a noticeably short one. I can tell something is wrong because I know my horse.

But what should I think? Should I be concerned? Do something?
    Given the farrier switch and the time it took between trims, should I just accept this as normal? How long should I wait before returning him to serious work?

He's gone over all kinds of rocky, rough terrain with me for years. He's never taken a bad step. I'm just sort of shocked and am sniffling over my best bud being in pain.