The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Cost of Leasing a Junior Jumper

We have been thinking about leasing a junior jumper for me after finals this year and I was just trying to figure out what you guys think would be a reasonable price.

I have 2 more junior years left and I have been doing the 3'6" hunters and eq for a couple of years now, but I have never really tried the jumpers. The horses I have been riding are challenging and I have learned a lot from them. I am really just looking for a horse that is dependable to jump and to let me learn to jump higher, it doesn't have to be a baby sitter at all.

I would like to start in the modified juniors and then possibly move up to the highs depending on how well its going (this would probably only be a year lease)

Thanks in advance!

Smile

General lease is 1/3 the price of the horse, although you may be able to do a little better in this economy. There is also a HUGE difference between leasing something to do the high juniors vs. the children's or modified. Sometimes the people that own the high jr. horses will not lease them out and allow you to do the modified, as it may bring down the price of the horse. I would suggest leasing something to do the children's jumpers this year. Do well, do the NAL and WIHS finals and have fun! Learn to do the children's well first. It is different than doing the hunters and eq. Then, your last year, lease something to move up. Unless you can find something that you could use to do the children's this year and it could move up to the low juniors next year. That would be a good possiblity and the best of both worlds, as you would get to know the horse. I have always been told it isn't the height that matters......it's learning to ride the courses correctly, making the turns, riding to the base of the jumps, etc. Good luck!