The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Horse that hasn't evented in 2 years... bringing back into showing

So I am going to be care leasing an 8 1/2 year old TB mare who ran BN and N when she was 6 or so, but for the past two years has only been ridden lightly (trails, flat, occasional jumping) and not on a regular schedule. I have not been up to trial her yet (hoping to do that next weekend) but from what I have heard talking to her trainer and her owner is that she is very calm, level-headed, etc and never gets "out of hand" while jumping (VERY important to me as I am somewhat new to eventing).

So what would be a good plan to get her back into low-level eventing? I also would like to do some H/J with her, but I'd love to show BN/N. I am mostly nervous about taking her out XC for the first time in 2 years, as I have had some very scary experiences with horses getting WAY too excited in the open. Also, I'd like to find a general plan to get her back in shape and jumping around 2'9"/3'.

Thanks for all your advice!

My gelding ran through Training with me when he was around 13, took 4 years off showing, started back up when he was 17. Honestly, besides going out for a CT with a school and getting back to riding daily, it was a piece of cake (started him back at N). Though his previous experience was with me, so I guess it was easier. But he kept most of his muscle and fitness, as older horses with lots of miles tend to, and mostly he was just grateful to be back.

She is a TB, so daily riding will have her at BN fitness easily. Just, work in some gymnastics, get out hacking, it should come pretty easily. Especially if she's been sort of kept in shape with some light riding for the past couple years.