The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default How do you work it? Horses/school/work/etc?

How do you work horses in with your life? I'm studying full time at the moment, and have two horses in work and four others who I'm in charge of feeding, mucking out etc. I was thinking of getting a part time job to help fund the horses because at the moment my parents are footing the bill, and I feel a bit guilty about not paying my way. But the problem is, finding time! I have a 2-hour round commute to the place I study four days a week, so usually I can't get out with the horses until about 3pm, and have to leave at 7.30am. With study, housework etc, this leaves little time for a real, paid job! As weekends are usually showing, and nights are usually studying, I'm struggling to find time to have this job. Also, who would want to employ someone for just one day a week (I have fridays off)??
    How do you work it??

Are you in college? Sounds like you have a lot on your plate. Why are you in charge of taking care of the four other horses? Are you receiving some kind of compensation for this, or are they yours?

Honestly, in situations like these, something has to give or else you have to organize things in such a way that every spare second of your time is filled up, usually ending up in someone who is so burned out they can't do any of it at all, or at least not well or happily.

I would try to prioritize what is most important to you and go from there. Is having a job really necessary? Is this really a matter of guilt (ie, your parents are pushing you to start paying for it yourself/making comments that make you feel guilty), or are you just trying to do it all and kill yourself in the process?