The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default What's a good score at a dressage sport horse breeding show?

I took my 2 year old BWP and he received a 75% in his 2 Yr old C/G class and a 75.9% in his BWP class. Is that good/average/very good/great? It's my first year doing the In-Hand thing....
    Enough with the drama!

Scores are always relative.... how did your horse place within his class and compared with the rest of the horses at the show? That's what tells you the real story.
    Siegi Belz
    www.stalleuropa.com
    2007 KWPN-NA Breeder of the Year
    Dutch Warmbloods Made in the U. S. A.

I consider 75% a "good" score. Siegi B is right though, it's all relative to how horses are scoring that day.

I showed my 5 month old pony weanling last month at her first DSHB show. She got 72.1% in her first class, and 75% in her second class. She won her second class by 10 points, and was fourth high score of the day against many Warmbloods. I was ecstatic! Especially since people were commenting that the scores were rather low at that show.

You should be proud of your boy though, 75% is good, especially first time out!
    Making Your Ambitions a Reality at Secret Ambition Stables.
    Quality Welsh Ponies and Welsh Crosses bred for sport
    Facebook Page.
    Section A and Section B Welsh Ponies at stud

The scores are relative and different judges do score differently. I think a 75% score is very good. Bravo just scored 81.5% at the Shelly Siegle show in Santa Rosa, Ca. When he was a yearling he scored a 78.9% at Rancho Murietta and then 4 weeks later a 73% at LAEC (Los Angelos Equestrian Center). In all cases winning his class. So I think the scores can fluctuate greatly. A 75% is a very good score and obviously the judge liked your youngster.
    Chris Misita
    www.hiddenvalleyfarms.net Home of Bravo and Warrick!