The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    saddlepads Guest

Default Surviving the first 5 miles (HOT horse)

Hi everyone, I was told to come to this board to take advantage of the wealth of good information and knowledge.
    For some background: I've been riding endurance very successfully for 3 years on a now 13-year old gelding. Just this year, a friend of my mom's asked me to take her 5 y/o mare on a couple of endurance rides. It has gone well - we've done 3 limited distances - placed top 10 in all 3. I think the horse has amazing potential and could definitely win easily with more mileage. The problem I'm having is that she is incredibly hot. Hottest horse I've ever ridden, easily. The first 5-10 miles are exhausting because of how riled up the horse gets. I am a very confident rider and do not get afraid or tense, but mare really feeds off of the energy of the other horses and riders. It is much worse when I get stuck in a pack, sometimes with riders that are not so knowledgeable and other green horses. All 3 races I've done I have waited a few minutes to avoid getting stuck in the initial rush, but I still manage to get caught up in some kind of excitement. I feel like I'm spending way too much of my and the horse's energy just trying to keep her from running away with me.

What should I do? Does she just need more rides? What can I do at home?

Also, the owner wants her ridden in a snaffle, which is what I've been doing. While I understand this, I really feel like I need something stronger; sometimes I feel like I have no brakes. I'm not at all a "hand rider" and just think it would be better for both of us. Owner has only been on said horse a couple of times in an indoor, so I don't think she's a great judge of what bit the horse needs. Am I right to feel this way?