The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default OLD vs RPSI?

So even though my fillys sire was accepted OLD GOV today, she is only a week old and no more inspections this yr. for that. I am 99% sure we are doing the RPSI at Glenhill the end of this month, but there is an OLD NA in Sept. Any thoughts or preferences? Another question, if a foal is approved OLD NA, can they also be accepted OLD GOV?
    "To my Gub... Godspeed my friend, till we meet again." 1996-2007.
    Runway (Sasha) 2009 Zweibrucker filly by Redwine.

"Silence is golden...and duct tape is silver."

My personal preferance is RPSI since I have had some negative experiences with the Old/ISR office staff and one particular inspector in the past (both for extreme rudeness) and the RPSI office was much more pleasant to deal with. Old/ISR has been around in the US longer and is a bigger organization (thus has a better name recognition) if that matters to you. You do have to pick just one to register with. Among WBs they cannot be double registered.
    Now if a filly is registered Old/ISR she can later be inspected and approved Old/GOV for breeding, or vice versa, but she can only get registration papers from one.

What Camohn said. Your filly can only be registered with one warmblood registry, however she will be eligible to be approved for breeding at maturity by other registries that accept her pedigree.

Typically, the filly would follow the registry with which the dam is approved. With which registry is your mare approved?

Quote Originally Posted by sid View Post
    Typically, the filly would follow the registry with which the dam is approved. With which registry is your mare approved?