The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Trott Brook horse trial in MN at risk of shutting its doors

http://csdea.org/content.aspx?page_i...odule_id=62286

I sent in my registery, if you are close by, please do the same! It's a great event!

My very first event was a Trottbrook. I'm no longer in that area, but have fond memories. Please support this venue.

Question Canceling this HT or all future HTs?

I'm confused. I understand that Trott Brook is considering canceling the 2009 HT due to low entries (Labor Day Weekend, economy, AECs, etc.).

However, is the implication that Trott Brook is in jeopardy of canceling all future HTs?

I have never competed at Trott Brook (I'm new to the Twin Cities), but I have schooled there and I spectated at the 2008 HT. Lovely facility and if my horse were sound and fit I'd be entered!

I still miss Berryhill, Brightonwood, and Fortuna. It'd be sad to lose Trott Brook too. I hope this is only a one time issue and things go better for them next year after the AEC moves.
    "Is it ignorance or apathy? Hey, I don't know and I don't care." ~Jimmy Buffett

I think the worry is that if Trott Brook cancels this year, the farm owners may decide to pack it in.

I am sure you all know, trials take a ton of work. It's a private farm, owned by two very busy veterinarians. It's also been a very busy summer with Ralph Hill and Eric Dierks in the area doing clinics not to mention dressage clinics, schooling shows and the like.

It doesn't help that Labor Day weekend is so late - K-12 schools normally start after it and I know there was public controversy when some schools decided to start before this year.

I'd be showing there if my horse weren't still rehabbing from a ligament injury - it's a terrific venue.

Bump.

Any news about entry status?