The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Pureluck Guest

Default Riding in the winter

I am new to the east coast (originally from CA!) and I'm getting nervous about winter riding. The place where I currently have my horse does not have an indoor arena and the places around here that do have an indoor are 2 1/2 times as expensive and do not have turnout/pastures. Is it impossible to ride during the winter with the snow, ice and cold without an indoor arena? I just want to be prepared! BTW I ride Dressage! Thanks...

The "east coast" is not one big weather pattern. You may have heard the weather in Maine is different from the weather in Georgia.

Long story short, if you live in an area where there is regular snowfall, I would not expect to do any steady work in the winter months. Icy, compacted, half-melted snow is very bad, sometimes downright dangerous footing.

If you live someplace Virginia or south of there (and not in the mountains), I would expect to miss a few days to bad weather but basically be fine.
    Proud Member: Bull-snap Haters Clique, Michigan Clique, and Appaloosa Clique!

Are we talking southern Connecticut New England, or northern Vermont New England?

In CT you will not be able to ride outside from mid-December until the end of March; in VT, not from Thanksgiving until mid/end of April.
    I realize that I'm generalizing here, but as is often the case when I generalize, I don't care. ~ Dave Barry

Pureluck Guest

Default In PA

I'm in north east Pennsylvania. So if I were to give my horse the winter off, does that inhibit training?

Quote Originally Posted by Pureluck View Post
    I'm in north east Pennsylvania. So if I were to give my horse the winter off, does that inhibit training?