The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question FEH Experiences

Hi all... I'm new to the COTH posting scene, so I apologize if this topic has already been discussed..... I'm re-entering the eventing scene after a couple year hiatus and I now have a lovely filly foal that I would like to take to 1 maybe 2 FEH evaluations next summer... How have your experiences been at these evals? Have they (USEA) decided on a way to evaluate the canter? Are FEH classes all you do with your youngsters? I have seen that there are some county shows that offer sport horse classes on the east coast *I'm guessing similar to what's offered in the UK?*.... Has anyone participated in these shows? If so experiences? Was it worth it? How do I find these classes? Please know that I don't want to over show my filly.... I just want to know what's out there because I want to pick the best events to do with her in order to give her the best experience I can. Also if anyone has any showing in-hand tips I'd appreciate it since as an Eventer I don't have much in-hand experience. Thanks all!
    "A good feeling after the round is better than any ribbon." ~ Bert de NĂ©methy

I did some last year with my yearling and 1 this year as a 2 yr old. It is a nice way to have a low key outing - usually only 10 horses total in the 3 I've been to. Comments from the judges have been fair, but smts not based as an event horse, but more of a dressage horse. You should read some info on presenting on a triangle and should do work with your filly at home so she stands, walk and trots with you and so you present a nice picture. Too often, the babies haven't been taught at all, and you see people dragging the babies ( or the babies dragging the owner)
    Very few people to spectate, so don't plan on using it as a sales opportunity