The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Clueless about pony club

So I have an "out there question"

I've been riding forever and was raised in a "pony club" type enviornment but was never actually in pony club.

After I finish college I want to go be a working student and eventually try to make horses into my career.

So, here's my question. If you've never been in pony club can you sign up and immediately try and get your B or A rating? Or do you have to go through D1, D2, D3, C1, ect.

Sounds crazy I know but I think if I studied up a bit I could do it. I don't know, maybe that's way out there but thought I'd ask.

You have to go through all of them. Some clubs will allow you to test in at D3/C1 or so, but you can't just go to B or A.

ohhh mannnnnnnnnn.

scratch that then. i'll be dead before i get to A.

thanx tho.

How often are you allowed to test?

You have to start at the D1/D2 which is the only rating you can combine, but there is no longer any waiting period between ratings so you can do them all pretty qucikly now.

Actually, it looks like you can do D1-D3 on the first rating now.

Well, you have until you're 25 now, so you get a few years after college. Also, there is no time limit between upper level ratings, you could feasibly do 4 or 5 ratings in one summer/year if you were so inclined. I would talk to your local club and see if you can work something out.

(PC I think we posted at the same time )
    It's psychosomatic. You need a lobotomy. I'll get a saw.