The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Anyone work/volunteer at handicapped riding programs?

Just curious. I was mulling over doing this, and don't think I've ever seen it mentioned here.

I am a NARHA certified instructor and I cant urge you enought to get involved. The emotional payback is huge! Both for your interaction with some of the best horses I have met and with the students and their progress and a whole gang of really neat people. Go for it. Check out the link to find a certified center near you!

http://www.narha.org/Centers/FindCenter2.asp

If you search for Therapeutic Riding and Hippotherapy here you'll find lots of info.

We volunteer, and we have a small program here at my farm and are in the process of building our new program that focuses on therapeutic horsemanship and are establishing a horsemanship /education program for therapists.

Programs vary widely, I would suggest visiting a couple and spending a few weeks to decide if the program is right for you.
    I Loff My Quarter Horse & I love Fenway Bartholomule cliques

Just somebody with a positive outlook on life...go ahead...hate me for that.

Thumbs up You will -be appreciated and be rewarded !!

Wonderful programs - Wonderful way to volunteer!!!! I have been a volunteer in two programs - two different cities - highly recommend this idea for you - you will be muchly appreciated and gleam rewards yourself. Can not say enough good things about these programs and their leaders!!!!!!!!
    Zu Zu Bailey " IT"S A WONDERFUL LIFE !"

I have a friend who volunteers with Pegasus Therapuetic Riding and loves it! I also have a friend whose daughter is a participant and they praise the program up and down. I'd definitely check it out if you have an interest.