The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Pony breeders - market for perlino welsh stallion??

Need some input from people that breed/market ponies. I've been offered a really nice reg'd Welsh 12.2hh perlino stallion. Well bred I'm told though I'm no expert on Welsh breeding. I have a weakness for ponies I have to admit, and I've often toyed with the idea of doing a bit of pony breeding. With the guaranteed dilute color this guy would throw, coupled with his small size, looks and movement, I was thinking it might be fun to have him. Maybe breed my daughter some fancy larges for when she outgrows smalls I wasn't shopping for ponies, especially pony stallions lol, but someone who wants to buy some of my youngsters is offering him as part of the package with the cash. The pony is well broken, great mover and jumper, and will be going to some shows this summer/fall so will have some show record on him.

Sooooo my concern is that is there actually any money in breeding ponies? Seems like the stud fees are quite low on some very fancy ponies I've searched out, and the youngstock doesn't seem to be priced very high either. My daughter shows smalls and I know how much a fancy packer type pony of any size can bring, but is there anyone out there that actually buys young unbroken ponies? I don't want to end up with a collection of ponies all needing breaking and showing before they are marketable.

The current owners say they get a lot of inquiries from owners of TB and WB mares wanting to breed to this pony for dilute fancy larges. Do you think there is really much interest out there for that sort of stallion and what sort of stud fee range? Are there many other perlino or cremello Welsh stallions out there?

I'm really intrigued by this little guy but also not sure I want two stallions and the extra workload! Opinions?