The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default New to dressage. Advice?

I've hopped the fence from the foxhunter/hunter/jumper world to dabble in dressage. As a newbie I'm clueless really, I don't even have half the letters memorized.

What advice do you have for someone just entering the dressage world? Do's and don'ts, whatever you have- I'd love to hear it.

Also if you could recommend some simple dressage books that would be lovely. I am currently reading "The Elements of Dressage" but don't know where to go from there.
    Professional COTH lurker.
    Horses serve as a balm for the disquieted soul, and somehow allow even the most lost to feel at home in their presence ♥

Read "The Complete Training of Horse and Rider" by Alois Podhasky, and remember that the answer is always behind (don't try to ride your horse from back to front)!

That's a very long dry book to start with. Try Lindquist's PRactical Dressage Manual

My best piece of advice would be to watch and take as many *good* lessons (and clinics) as possible. Ideally take lunge lessons, and ride with an eye on the ground as much as possible, that can be a barnmate giving you feedback (mainly on your position and aids).

While books can be helpful in understanding general concepts, you will only learn to ride while riding : ).

I like the "Gymnasium of the Horse" by Steinbrecht, but that's not an easy read. "The Principles of Riding" by the FN are a nice, condensed version of the basic concepts.
    "Reite dein Pferd vorwärts und richte es gerade.” Gustav Steinbrecht

I hate to sound like a clueless doofuss (but I'm going to!):

Who are the FN? I'm also looking for good books...

FN is the hoity toity way of saying 'the national organization that governs dressage in a given country'.