The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default pre-purchase exam

I'm in the process of buying a horse and am wondering what people consider to be the basic PPE? The horse is inexpensive, less than 3K. I've been riding him for about 6 months, light to moderate work, lots of trot (he'd been rather a pasture puff for some time prior) on good footing. He's been sound (knock wood) so far.

I intend to use him for low level dressage, trail riding, small jumps, maybe some local showing. He's just a really nice "all around" type horse. He's a grade QH type, about 7 or 8 yrs. 24/7 turnout and seemingly quite content on it. A bit of an air-fern, he's chubby on decent pasture, (plenty of acreage but not lush), with just enough grain to make his supplements (accel, biotin) stick. His feet are shelly and cracked but there is a good inch or so of new growth that appears to be in good shape. The supplements and spring grass have had a lot to do with that I suspect. He does tend to be on the lethargic side, no ball of fire here.

He's due to have a Coggins pulled and I'm going to have a Lyme titer run simply because I live in a high risk area and I've seen plenty of deer ticks this year. I don't feel that I need to do a PPE on same level I would do on a very expensive horse but I'd like to cover the minimum. Any suggestions would be welcome.