The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Human heart rates influence horses?!

Just found this on another board and wanted to share:
    Hope this link works - this is very interesting:
    http://www.thehorse.com/ViewArticle.aspx?ID=14464

I think there is some validity to this. This has got to be a part of the puzzle in reference to what horses "pick up" from their owners/handlers. When I am anxious and try to act like I am not - I am not fooling my horse. This makes so much sense. I must learn how to teach myself to "pulse down".

As an engineer, I have to question the cause/effect here. Are the horses sensing the human's heart rate, or are they sensing the anxiety that's causing the human's heart rate to increase?
    “There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation. One is by the sword. The other is by debt.”
    John Adams

I would also suggest that we question what increases human's heart rate in those situations?
    Adrenaline.
    One more probable cause would be our change in how we smell.
    That could be how the horses can tell, if not just because our body language changes, tension is added and they can detect that.

I think they need to study that a little further?

There are so many phenomenon out there. Like salmon migrating back to the river they were spawned in. Or dolphins/whales or even bird migration. Do they read the magnetic lines of the earth? I have read several scientific theories -but whatever the theory, they do it pretty much without error and they may have been doing it long before humans came along.

If little fish and little birds have such sophisticated systems, why not more advanced lifeforms such as horses and humans. What it is I don't know.

Clever Hans
    Janet

chief feeder and mucker for Music, Spy, Belle and Tiara. Someone else is now feeding and mucking for Chief and Brain (both foxhunting now).