The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default I miss having my "own" horse

I just needed to get this out in the open. I am a graduated college student and I am working for my trainer. I get free board for my horse, and I just pay vet/farrier bills. However my horse had to recently retire due to underlying issues (severe arthritis, blown knee,)
    I have more than plenty of horses to ride! (nice ones in fact)
    I just miss having my "own" personal horse. Of course I still groom, and lightly hack my horse when he is having a good day. I just feel that I am stuck with an old retired horse I can't do anything with. I could never part with him. He deserves every ounce of retirement for being the best Children's/Adult Hunter I could ever have.
    I was wondering if anyone is in the same boat as me? Has a lame/retired horse that they could never sell. However, they can't afford another horse?

Well I am definately in the "horseless rider" boat myself. I had a horse for years, but he was a rescue/adoption and was very limited with what he could do. I ended up getting rid of him last summer because I just couldnt afford to keep him anymore, I was no longer using him, and I couldnt keep paying for him, just to avoid saying goodbye. He was a great first horse, and now he can be someone else's great beginner/first horse.

I have been having a ruff time lately with the fact that I dont have my own, and unfortunately its going to be a while before I do. I just cannot afford it. I am heading back to college in the fall,so getting horse is down the road for me.

I do have horses that I can ride anytime I want, they are nice ,and I am 100% grateful to the owners for their generosity....but nothing is like having your own..

I hear you
    *We tolerate behaviors in human beings that would horrify us if we saw them in a horse.*
    R.I.P El Salvador*
    [COLOR="SlateGray"]

Smile