The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Equine Piroplasmosis? Horses Quarantined in MO

http://www.kmbc.com/news/19794765/detail.html

Any information on this disease? I have never heard of it before and it doesn't say whether or not this disease can spread by horse.

Sad situation for all the horses involved!
    -Lindsey

I have no experience with this either but I believe the article answered your question here:
    The disease is usually transmitted by ticks, but it can also spread by a contaminated needle. "I think it's important the public know this is not a disease transferable to humans," Hagler said. "We just don't want it to gain any foothold in the United States."

What would be the need to quarantine the horses then?
    -Lindsey

So that they don't infect other horses by way of ticks.
    "Are you yawning? You don't ride well enough to yawn. I can yawn, because I ride better than you. Meredith Michael Beerbaum can yawn. But you? Not so much..."
    -George Morris

Well that makes since. Is there not a vaccine for this?
    -Lindsey

Concise but good info http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_hea...piroplasmosis/

No vaccine because it is a 'parasite' rather than a virus (most successful vaccines protect against viruses). While it isn't the same parasite, if you think 'malaria'...you are on the same page. (other 'parasitic' diseases that are similar are coccidiosis (cats mostly) and EPM - equine protozoal myelitis).

North America has (remarkably) been successful in quaranting imports to prevent the spread of this disease, but it is endemic in so many other counties, and being tick-born, it was bound to infect us sooner or later.
    * <-- RR Certified Gold Star {) <-- RR Golden Croissant Award
    Training Tip of the Day: If you can’t beat your best competitor, buy his horse.
    NO! What was the question?