The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Bit Question (not about the Pelham lol)

My horse does primarily the A/O Jumpers, but recently I have decided to do some more Hunters with him (he is definately fancy enough!). My question is this: His current bit is a 3 ring elevator. What bit can I use for the hunters that will give him a similar feel to this bit. He goes the best in this bit. I have tried several varieties of Dee Rings and he is just not happy about it. Do you think a Full cheek is the next bit to try???
    Thanks in Advance.

The ring is not the issue, the mouthpiece is.
    Seig Heil Polo Shirt!

I am no bit expert by any means but my horse has occasionally gone in a three ring and regularly goes in a loose ring snaffle which, while not exactly conventional in hunters, is still legal.

If you would like to go for the more traditional look I would suggest you look into something with leverage like a full cheek or even the controversial pelham.

Full Cheeks don't have leverage.
    Pelhams aren't controversial.
    Seig Heil Polo Shirt!

Quote Originally Posted by Pirateer View Post
    Full Cheeks don't have leverage.
    Pelhams aren't controversial.
    From everything I have ever been told, a full cheek when used with keepers DOES provide mild leverage. From what I have observed, some people are very for pelhams and some people are very against pelhams. It is not as benign as say a D ring which I don't think anyone has any qualms with.

You might not need as much leverage as you would in the jumpers to do the hunters so maybe you can get away with something a little lighter?

The mylers confuse the **** out of me but maybe there's something there that can help you.
    HorseStableReview.com - Tell others what you know! Post your barn or review today.

Quote Originally Posted by horsestablereview View Post