The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default New Zealand Eventing Scene

What can you tell me about eventing in New Zealand. I'm seriously considering studying abroad there and would definitely love to keep riding while I'm there. I obviously won't have a horse with me, but I would be willing to work, go to clinics, etc. The program is in Auckland.

I studied abroad in NZ in 2007, and to be honest with you, I only sat on horses twice when I was there (had no transport other than public and no way to get to the barns), but I can tell you that whatever you do there, you should GO. It's an AMAZING country, and we traveled it up and down, including tramping through every national park. So whether you're riding or not, definitely go, and defintely TRAVEL. It's too amazing of a country to not see while you're there.

OMG! GO! HORSE HEAVEN!!!!!!! My husband and I spent a few weeks there last year and just absolutely loved it. We were playing - not studying so can't give you that insight but there are lots of horsie things and a few events very close to Auckland. Trudy Boyce - silver medalist at the Gawler 1986 world championships lives just north of Auckland and is just the nicest person and would be a fabulous person to introduce you to the eventing scene there. PM me .

Bungy jump while you are there!!!!! Almost as fun as riding xc!! Scariest freakin' thing I have ever done BUT WHAT A RUSH!!!!!

Wink

I rode a New Zealand (imported) TB during his retirement years--he was AWESOME! The woman did upper level eventing with him, then he did dressage for a while, then retired, then came to me! Go and bring me back another one!!!

That's also where Charisma came from.