The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Question on attire.

Hello. So I'm new to showing. I've only been riding for about 2 years now. My first hunter show will be sunday.

My question is, why are there so many rules on attire? I mean I understand a dress code of proper jacket, breeches, boots and helmet. But why is fabric color a factor? Isn't it about how you ride and how the horse preforms?

Thanks!
    dory

Well yes, but you also want to present a traditional look so no wild colors. Tradition is very big in the hunter arena, navy blue coat is always proper, or some other muted darker color. Although I have seen brown and olive green starting to become more commonplace. Your shirt should be a color that matches or at least compliments your coat, buff breeches, black velvet cap or similar, black boots, black gloves. Everything should be tasteful and not too excessive to present a picture of elegance.
    Yogurt - If you're so cultured, how come I never see you at the opera? Steven Colbert

Yeah it's not that I want to go out there in a hot pink coat or anything. Just curious.

It's a factor because it's based on hunt attire, and the idea was for the field to look uniform and each item served a purpose. There were some elements of whimsy that suggested certain meanings, like one earning their colors or wearing their tails down on their hat, but for the most part it's just tradition that color is a factor. Subtle, elegant, and uniform. Ideally.

There is actually very litle in the Hunter rules about attire, and what there doesn't match what people are actually wearing.

The rules don't even say you have to wear boots!

And the rules specify nothing about neckwear in between the stock for "formal attire" and the choker for "when jackets are waived".