The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default No money for new show clothes :(

I have been eventing for a few years but every competition I have been to was my own barn's show and I was only putting mileage on horse and usually rode so it didn't count. Therefore, I usually rode in only a polo, or show clothes from my previous career (the H/J/Eq life).

But now I have my own horse who is just getting back in shape. I definitely have no money or competitive desire to do anything rated with her, I just want to do some schooling event for fun.

so here's my question. Is it going to be a major insult to the judge if I do my dressage test in a light blue show shirt and navy hunt coat? Am I going to hear snickers from other competitors? And is it taboo to do showjumping in just a polo?

I consider myself and eventer but I know nothing about the competitve fashions. I may also be super defensive and paranoid because in the H/J world, if you wear the wrong thing into the show ring, the whole show will be talking about it.

I want to fit in but I just dont think I can afford new show clothes. And used will be incredibly hard to find because I am very tall and skinny.

For a schooling event? Have a gander at the rules, but I think you'd be fine wearing your show shirt & coat for both phases. Generally a polo shirt is insufficient for the show-jumping phase unless hot weather has caused management to waive jackets.

I have never heard any snickering about what someone wears at an event, especially a schooling event. As long as you're within the rules, clean and comfortable, go have fun!
    Blugal

You never know what kind of obsessive compulsive crazy person you are until another person imitates your behaviour at a three-day. --Gry2Yng