The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Event Prospect?

I'll preface this by saying that I am far from an expert on eventing. I used to do a little bit as a teen at some local shows in upstate NY many, many years ago. Now I am mostly a low level dressage and trail rider.

I have a friend's 5 year old mare with me to get gently started under saddle. Until now, she has been a pasture pet, halter trained, trimmed, handled, but that's about it. I've had her for 2 weeks now and we are working on basics, like lunging without running off or running me over. She's a dominant personality with tons of energy, smart too.

I get the question, "Can she jump?" So I set up a jump chute last weekend. She is 14 hands tall and easily cleared the 3'4" rail.
    http://www.akalranch.com/images/090405BonitaJump2.JPEG
    http://www.akalranch.com/images/090405BonitaJump3.JPEG

If she learns to tuck her knees, she'll clear higher. The video that the stills above are from is here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdAGn...e=channel_page

I'm not going to be the one to take her on past these next few months, but I'm curious to know what others think might be a possible career for her. She might end up being a trail horse, but I wonder if she couldn't do more than that. I'm asking here, because of my lack of real world experience in jumping and eventing. I'm truly interested in honest opinions. I don't want to put her out there as something she's not.
    Akal Ranch Blog - http://akalranch.com/
    Simrat Khalsa Fine Art & Photography - http://www.simratkhalsa.com/