The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Suggestions for my mare?

She is a 13 year old, 15.2 hand, TB mare who I have been eventing for almost 2 years. She is a very athletic jumper and a reasonably nice mover. She is base narrow in the front and tight-rope walks when ridden. She can be marish and at times a sensitive and unforgiving ride which gives the rider little margin for error. She is very sound and has good TB feet.

I'd like the baby to gain height, better movement, steady temperment, and a better front end.

Any suggestions?

Here are some pictures of her (sorry I don't have any better confo shots!).

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/e...ember08077.jpg
    http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/e...n/DSC_1302.jpg
    http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/e...n/DSC_1243.jpg

PS. I love Herzensdieb for my mare but I'm worried that the two of them might produce a bit of a handful temperment-wise!

Just something to think about....

Would you be happy if the foal turned out to be a carbon copy of your mare - in every way?
    Liz
    Lionwood Irish Draught Horses
    irishdraught.co

Default Ironman is a great match

You can never go wrong with Ironman...he's the sweetest stud I've ever met and passes it on. He's got great movement and many of his children will dable in hunters before moving on up because they are conformationally correct and their movement is to die for. He also has children in dressage and eventing. He has a great head and neck set and passes that on as well. Many of his offspring's owners are ammy's and have no problem in breaking them out (with a little help). I have the privilege of seeing many get broke where I'm at and in many cases they will w/t around the ring within the first days of being undersaddle. See ironmanonline.com for more info.