The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Breeding a mare can cause laminits? an open discussion

So, my good friend and I were talking about breeding horses before they went on to having a performance career the other day and he had some interesting things to say and I wanted to see what everyone thought!

I have known quite a few breeders who breed their mares while they are young and then send them out to have a performance career, what he said is that most mares that are bred develop some degree of laminitis, is anyone familiar with that? I feel like I have heard of so many mares who have had babies to go on to show but I am no expert and am interested in learning more about this and what would cause the laminitis by being bred?

Also, if anyone has experience breeding the younger mare then sending her to show I would love to hear about it.

Thanks!
    Last edited by RheinlandPfalzSaar; Mar. 25, 2009 at 11:36 AM. Reason: typo

Wow, that is news to me and we have been breeding horses for many years!

Horses are always at risk for laminitis and retained placenta will cause "some" mares to develop laminitis, but not just breeding them. If it did there would be a lot less breeding going on.

Breeding young mares before their performance careers is pretty common and seems to work well.

Are you sure that person didn't mean IR (insulin resistance)? Pregnancy does induce a degree of IR in mares.

I have never heard that all pregnant mares get a degree of laminitis !! Never experienced that either.

I thought with as much as I read this forum that by sure I would have heard of this before, that's why it took me by so much surprise! Plus having known so many mares that have been bred young and gone on to have performance careers made me wonder. Patty, I know that you've been breeding for a long time so thanks for the info.