The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Can't feel the diagonal

Hello, a friend and I just started riding again after a 20 year hiatus. I was never ever able to feel the diagonal without looking down and I made some progress this fall with the dressage instructor we started back with who had us do a lot of sitting trot. I'd start a trot sitting, feel the diagonal and start posting.

However, long story short, we had to leave this place and now we're taking more of hunt seat instruction where the instructors insist on posting the trot immediately and I cannot feel the diagonal. Half of the time I guess wrong and have to look down to correct it. I simply can't feel the diagonal in the post and its really annoying.

Any suggestions? I feel like a putz always having to look down. I'd like to get it right the first time.

Your dressage instructor was right. Feeling the swing of the back in the sitting trot should only take a stride or two if your horse is moving through his back properly.

If it's been 20 years since you were last regularly riding, you've earned the maturity and the gravitas to let the dang instructor wait a second for you to find the diagonal you're seeking.
    Last edited by Bayou Roux; Mar. 16, 2009 at 09:40 PM.