The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Dressage Saddle Woes

I am very new to dressage. Am a re-rider with a past in hunters. I bought a horse a year ago and was doing hunters (just doing what I knew), just in the flat, but became quite bored and decided to try dressage. So, found a great dressage barn and finally had my first dressage lesson this weekend and, well, I'm in love!

I used a friend's saddle that is up for sale. It's a Rembrandt, adjustable. Fit my horse well and fit me, too. My instructor said she thought the knee blocks were too small and larger ones would help keep me from leaning forward and bringing my knees up. But, admitted that it may just be me, being from a hunter background. I have found larger knee blocks very uncomfortable for me, and hard to find ones that fit as I'm fairly short. Admittedly, I've sat in a lot of dressage saddles, but this is the first one I've ridden in.

The Rembrandt was offered to me for $700 and I just saw the exact same one in the tack shop for nearly $1,400. I'm almost tempted to buy it and ride in it and then when I'm ready to graduate to a different saddle (and maybe when the economy is a bit better), sell it for a profit and put that money toward the new saddle.

I'm going to try my barnmate's saddle tomorrow, it has moderate thigh blocks, but the flaps are longer as she is really long-legged. I want to see what it's like to ride in a saddle with larger thighblocks.

If I don't purchase the Rembrandt this week, it's going to the big tack sale this weekend (for $1000) and may or may not sell.

I'm limited in funds and have my huntseat saddle for sale right now.

Thoughts? Ideas?

it's not the edge of the earth, but you can see it from here