The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Help for dressage newbie?

I've never done dressage before except small open shows. Now I'm a rider for a gypsy vanner (lets not breed bash, its a job) and we plan on possibly doing some walk/trot intro tests. I have taken dressage lessons, but I'll be working with the owners trainer for the horse, my own trainer for myself.

What exactly should the horse be able to do for these tests?

How do I read the test?

These are the tests:

http://www.glass-ed.org/images/Glass-Ed_ITD_Test_1.pdf

http://www.glass-ed.org/images/Glass-Ed_ITD_Test_2.pdf
    To be loved by a horse, or by any animal, should fill us with awe-
    for we have not deserved it.
    Marion Garretty

The horse should be able to move forward freely with light contact at the walk and trot, both on a straight line and on a 20m circle. The horse needs only to show acceptance of the bit, nothing more.

What specific questions do you have about the tests?
    Quote Originally Posted by SuzieQNutter
    The whip is held across your thigh so as you can still hold the reins without spilling your coffee!!
    SillyHorse adds: Or your wine.

I have never shown Intro tests, but I imagine that the goal is the same as all other levels: to present a calm, accurate test that demonstrates that the horse can perform the required movements in a graceful and pleasant manner. In intro tests, I think the goal is to showcase the movements in the walk and trot and transitions between the two gaits.
    As for breeds, I'm showing my homebred quarterhorse and he took home reserve high point in training level at a show over the weekend. Good luck with your "non-traditional" breed!

I'm a little confused on putting the test together in the arena with the markers. It may be more clear if I can get out in an arena with markers and walk the test on ground.