The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Looking for ATV for the farm

More specifically I'm looking for a small one. I want it to be small enough for my 5 yr old to fit but strong enough that a small adult(me) can use too. I want my son to be able to do stuff around the farm, like drag and put a small trailer on the back to help with picking the field, stuff like that. I want a used one that is not a lot of money. Any advice/input?
    To ride or not to ride; what a stupid question!

Hmmm...take my input with a grain of salt, since I'm not an expert on either children or ATV's. Hell, I'm not even sure I could keep one alive (kids, that is. I already know I can kill an ATV.) But I just wonder if a 5 year old and an ATV is the best combination. It can take some muscle to drive even the smaller ones, and more than once my hand has slipped, goosing the gas and causing me to say, "damn, that could have been ugly." I know they make little kid-sized ATV's, but I question the logic of those as well.

That's just my first thought, I'm not trying to make judgements on parenting skills or anything.

As a mother and an ATV owner, putting a 5 yo on an ATV is not a good idea, especially to do farm work. Around here, you have to be 16 to ride an ATV. I take my 6 yo on our with me but he's always sitting in front of me, we go slow and only for a recreational ride. Doing anything more than that, too many things can go wrong that it's not worth the risk.
    If you're going to get an ATV to do farm work, you'll need a 4x4 and nothing smaller than a 350cc. That's what we have and I wouldn't go any smaller. We bought ours used and it came with a plow. You can also purchase a bucket for it. I know TSC sells them.

You will have to spend more, but how about a UTV?
    They have a dump box behind and are considerably more handy than an ATV and somewhat safer for kids to handle.