The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Help me figure out my life!!!

I'm at a real crossroads in my life and was wondering if those who have been there, done that could help me weigh my choices.
    I'm currently in first year university in an arts program that focuses on media studies. I also have an amazing coach, an amazing horse and show all around North America on the A circuit. I show jumpers, I just started seriously jumping last year and I'm progressing quite well.
    The problem is that I hate school. It's really not what I want to do, I don't want a desk job! I would really like to do something horse related. I can pretty much rule out being a professional rider as I've dabbled in everything but never really stuck with one discipline long enough to reach a very high level.
    I found a college in the UK, Hartpury (www.hartpury.ac.uk) where I could achieve a BSc in Equine Science and use that to get a job say as a therapist or nutritionist. I actually don't know what's out there and what I would like to do. I would discover what I'm interested in there. Getting in is not an issue as I am basically in. Money isn't an issue as it would be either showing A's or going to college.

so what should I do?
    A) stay in school here, get a decent gvt. job and pay for riding, stay on A circuit
    or
    B) go to college and discover myself, get a horse related job and remain kinda poor but hopefully happy doing something that I love

a. you don't have to go across the pond to get an equine science degree. in fact that sounds like running away from your problems to me.