The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Talking Stallion Suggestions for Holsteiner Breeding

Hi guys! This is my first time posting in the Sport Horse Breeding Section.
    I am the proud new owner of a Premium Holsteiner Mare named Camilla.
    She is out of a stallion named Literat and a dam named Laurina. Her pedigree can be found at http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/camilla73
    I just got a great video from Karen at Fox Fire Farm. They seem to be one of the top suppliers for semen in the states. Given that breeding does anyone have any personal experience with any of these stallions, or could you suggest a stallion for me.
    Thanks so much!
    AGR

I've met Camiros and Ariadus in person, they are both exceptional stallions. Karen is also great to work with.

What about your mare would you like to improve, and what are your goals for the foal (jumpers, dressage, etc)?
    Blacktree Farm
    Lessons, training & sporthorse sales. Proud supporter of our buckskin German Warmblood stallion, Yeager GF.
    Blacktree Studio
    Graphic Design, Web Design & Photography.

Photos of her would help. Are you looking at frozen or fresh semen stallions?
    Silver Creek Farms - home of Apiro & Validation
    Visit us on facebook!

I've had foals from several stallions Karen represents: Ariadus (3), Camiros (1), Linaro (3), Quinar (1 expected next month), Lorentin (1) and Cheenook (1). Each of them were different, having come from different mares, but each did what I had hoped they would do with the mares. If your mare's name starts with "C", she is 21 years old, so I would avoid frozen unless she's been bred with it successfully in the past. What is her foaling history? What do you plan to do with the foal? What attributes are most important to you to produce?
    Maryanne Nicpon
    Minglewood Sport Horses
    Ballston Spa, NY