The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Who Knew It Cost So Much?!

My saddle has both its knee pads slightly torn so I talked to a repair shop to see how much it would be it fix it and....it cost as much as I paid for my saddle! (which is $700, since I bought my saddle used and with torn knee pads but got a great deal since it's a Delgrange and in great condition otherwise). I'm in sticker shock though since I'm a broke student and saved up forever to pay for my saddle in the first place! Anyways, does it usually cost that much just to replace knee pads????

Ouch, how bad are the tears? Do the whole knee pads have to be replaced on both sides? 700 sounds high to me.
    Proud to have two Gold Prince POAs!
    Takaupas Top Gold
    Gifts Black Gold Knight

Default You might be better off...

Trying to find another one like you have that either the seat is shot, tree broke, or something like that, that has good knees and have them swapped..

But I agree that sounds high...
    " iCOTH " window/bumper stickers.
    http://bluemoongrafixva.webs.com

Quote Originally Posted by Lori View Post
    Ouch, how bad are the tears? Do the whole knee pads have to be replaced on both sides? 700 sounds high to me.
    I sent the repair person the pictures below and he told me that they both need to be totally replaced. I thought they could just be resewn....What do you think?

http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2...00366654SfaUEt

http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2...00366654VcojUO

Call around some more. I got a saddle "re-furbished" 2 years ago - had the flaps completely replaced (they had worn through) and billets replaced and it only cost $300 and the repairs were excellent (he did a bit more than originally asked and used a lot of new leather).