The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default oxer-itis

I have a really bad case of oxeritis as my coach calls it. I've been riding for 10 years and am more than capable of the oxers I'm doing, but they scare the heck out of me, and I don't know what to do! I've always been nervous about jumping bigger jumps (anything over 3' for me) but I want to move up. When I head for an oxer, I get nervous, and then my naturally nervous horse gets more nervous, and it doesn't usually turn out well. I guess I'm scared of getting a bad distance and doing something stupid. How can I get myself over this fear?

Just look at the front rail. Ride it like a vertical, but give an extra squeeze on takeoff.

I have gone through every sort of phobia over the years. Triple combinations, skinnies, square oxers....I finally learned that for my brain, I just need to ride at everything like it is a vertical, then add whatever riding adjustment I need once the distance is in the bag. Hope that helps!

There is a case of oxeritis in your barn? I would be scared if the oxers in my barn were swollen, too!

...only kidding! I think some degree "oxer phobia" is pretty common. What about them scares you? Just that they look big and scary, or is your horse not handy enough to help you out? If the former, perhaps practicing over grids ending in big oxers will give you a little experience and help you gain some confidence? Practicing them in grids can allow you to jump the oxers without worrying about finding a good distance, which might help you relax when you jump single oxers during a course.

...Oxeritis, on the other hand, would probably scare just about everyone!

oxers at the 3' level, arent too wide and even if you chip your horse should be able to get over it....