The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Help with IM shots

Any tips for giving IM shots would be much appreciated. I know what sites can be used, but my horse jumps around and makes it really difficult. I'm a nurse and should be able to do this. I've tried the pat 2 times and then insert the needle but my horse fights and tries to get away. It took 3 people yesterday to hold him and he was in the cross-ties. We've been using his neck as the injection area and alternating sites. Once the needle is in he freaks and frantically pulls away. I'm doing the adequan series and have 5 more to go

Quote Originally Posted by Passage2 View Post
    Any tips for giving IM shots would be much appreciated. I know what sites can be used, but my horse jumps around and makes it really difficult. I'm a nurse and should be able to do this. I've tried the pat 2 times and then insert the needle but my horse fights and tries to get away. It took 3 people yesterday to hold him and he was in the cross-ties. We've been using his neck as the injection area and alternating sites. Once the needle is in he freaks and frantically pulls away. I'm doing the adequan series and have 5 more to go
    Try changing the needle routine completely; use his stall instead of crossties (he may be "expecting" the needle now), move him close to the wall with his butt close to the backside of the stall, rub him, pet him, etc. while keeping the needle *out of sight*. When he's calm, have someone cover the eye on the site you're going to inject him.