The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Spinoff from First time horseless in 20 years/Do you sometimes WANT to be horseless?

I know this is a ramble, so.....

Sometimes I think I'm just over it all. The feeding, hauling feed and hay, cleaning stalls, all of it.

Then I step outside and am greeted with happy calls. But still, I've been doing this for 35 years and sometimes I really want to sell and quit. I've thought of boarding, but they are in my backyard and I can't imagine not seeing them every day. Plus it costs me less to feed all three of them than it would to board one although it is very labor intensive and I do it all by myself.

Anybody else go through this? Is it temporary? Can you fall out of love with horses?

No. I never want to be horseless. Even this morning, pouring rain and 40 degrees, I happily went out and tossed hay, and tried to blanket the ones with no blankets, which they happily refused, checked for overnight injuries, checked water. I never want to wake up and see an empty pasture. I've only had horses at home for 15 years, though, and my husband helps out. Maybe it will change, but I really doubt it!

My best friend has the most beautiful little barn, paddocks, arena in her back yard. Open a gate and you are on the best fenced, groomed trails. She got rid of her horse a few years ago and uses the barn to store lawn equipment. Seems like such a waste, but she is just so over it.
    Lilykoi

Hell hath no fury like the chestnut thoroughbred mare

I sometimes do. Mainly in the winter, when I get out to the barn once a week, and when going there sometimes seems like a chore with all the cold and ice and misery. I think about how much money I'd save just to do lessons and not have Sam... especially when he had four vet bills, two emergency, in a month...