The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Logical progression of bits?

I am new to hunting but not new to riding ottb's so I am trying to figure how if there is a logical progression of making a bit change for a horse that is hunting? My friend left me a great message about her suggestions of adding or subtracting different things so I thought I would see what the masses had to say.

One of the horses I have been hunting all season is a very quiet laidback guy who has done well either in first or second flight. I had been riding him in a french link and that seemed to be plenty maybe a touch more could have been needed for those really long gallops in open fields (our territory is almost all open fields).

As the season has went on he has gotten slightly stronger which I associate with fitness and also I have changed his diet to add in some more protein via alfalfa and also more beet pulp too to keep his weight on. There is no bad behavior but he wants to run through the snaffle a bit more than he had been. My friend was riding him today at one of our fixtures where there are a lot of jumps and you ride single file. That is tough to ride behind other horses that are jumping at the canter and have a rateable horse. He wanted to get a bit quick by pulling upward and throwing his head up (had a standing) and on the long runs he was pulling down and out. I would say my friend has a tiny bit more electric seat than I do (hey, she is going to read this) but I too have noticed some of the same things so I think she just got the progression of an already occuring habit today. He was also ridden by a junior rider at the last hunt so maybe a bit left over from that as well.