The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Happy Mouth King Dee Mullen

I was looking over the Smartpak website and under the description for the Happy Mouth King Dee Mullen Bit, it said "a favorite with H/J trainers". I was just wondering why it is and what a trainer would use it for. Just looking to expand my knowledge!

I'm not a trainer, but I ride my mare in one.

We use it because she's got a soft mouth and doesn't like a lot going on in there. We started out in a French link, and it was too much, so a friend suggested the HMMM. She was quiet, soft, and happy in it, so in it we remain

My horse also loves it. He has such a soft mouth that he doesn't even need a bit but he goes wonderfully in that
    **Friend of bar.ka**

Fils Du Reverdy (Revy)- 1993 Selle Francais Gelding
    My equine soulmate

Oh! Is marketing copy taken gospel truth now? Cool! I work in marketing. Time to implement my evil plan to take over the world, one copy edit at a time!

Actually, I know a lot of people that use that bit because the horses like it. My horse hated it (I think the bulbs in the center bugged her), but she does love her happy mouth single jointed D. Now, if I could get her to stop eating the darned things!

My horse has one and seems to like it. My pony liked the Happy Mouth bits too much, and kept eating them. I'm cheap, so he has a metal bit now.

Where am I and what am I doing in this handbasket?

Hah! Mouthpiece aside, I promise you anything with that honkin' ugly old white bar on the side of their mouth isn't a favorite of any top trainer I know!

Now the custom version I bought? That's a favorite of mine and many others, although the price was not a favorite. I like the bit, my horse likes the bit, but I think any claims to be a favorite is safely in the marketing rhetoric category.