The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Leaving to go to a "Rival Barn"

Just wondering what all of you think. I've been riding at my barn for almost three years, but now have found I would prefer to be at their rival barn for many reasons. My barn is like family, but I am better off at the other barn because they offer better services. If anyone can understand what I'm trying to say, please help...

Quote Originally Posted by JumperCrazy418 View Post
    Just wondering what all of you think. I've been riding at my barn for almost three years, but now have found I would prefer to be at their rival barn for many reasons. My barn is like family, but I am better off at the other barn because they offer better services. If anyone can understand what I'm trying to say, please help...

I have no advice for you about what you may want to hear, but I do wish to say that you would be very wise to handle it like a mature adult and not like a teenager. Do not view or act as if you're "moving to the rival barn", view it as you are moving for the better services as you said. When the "rival barn" starts talking down about your previous barn, never forget were you came from and who you once - and just now called "family.

In other words. " don't be a b!tch about it". Always keep in mind that your actions affect EVERYONE around you.
    "I am going to teach you about men. distances are like men. Never grab the first one you see; it's never the best one, and more will come along."-George Morris

Well said SLS!! Agreed. And good luck!

Agree with SLS. Don't burn bridges, you may find yourself wanting to return one day.

Good luck!