The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New study: Horses tell what they think of Rollkur

Posted in the Eurodressage community. Scroll down to read about study.

http://www.barnmice.com/group/theeur...hyperflexion-3

Hahahahahahahah.

ANd people get to publish this nonsense.

wowsers.

Or is this early April Fool's Day?

OTOH, a new plateau reached in scientific method.

ROFLMAO
    one oak, lots of canyons

http://horsesportnews.wordpress.com/

Cool

I thought I had a headache, now I know I do.
    Some riders change their horse, they change their saddle, they change their teacher; they never change themselves.

I'm not a professional animal behaviorist, so I'm not qualified to pass judgment on the study, but it did make sense to me.

I also know that the University of Guelph where the study was done is respected internationally as one of the leading centres of research and care in the field of equine health, with some of the foremost equine scientists in the world. If anyone is interested in finding out about them you can Google Equine Guelph or University of Guelph.

In my experience and from what I have observed, horses do know that when they go either along a certain route or to a specific location, they will be worked in a certain type of way. That is the primary reason some horses balk at entering the training ring, the show ring, etc. Some horse refuse to even walk along the path leading to the training ring - it is not uncommon at all and is an issue that trainers working with young or sour horses sometimes deal with.

I think observation of that type of behaviour would be what inspired the study, although I can't say for sure.

Default rolkur

Gladys,